Skip to content

Weeknight Skillet Chili and…. Food Blog Forum Highlights

September 14, 2010

What to cook for dinner?  Since fall is almost here I am thinking chili sounds good and it’s a quick fix.  I usually make my chili with ground turkey because it’s a bit healthier. I have to sneak in the benefits of healthy food so I can eat dessert, because that’s truly what I live for.

Skillet Chili
1 pound ground turkey
1 yellow onion chopped
1 garlic clove pressed
1 green bell pepper (optional)
1 1/2 cup of frozen corn
1 can of pinto or black beans rinsed and drained
1 can 14 oz. can of chopped tomatoes
1 can small can tomato sauce
1 14 oz. can of chicken broth
1 chili seasoning packet your favorite or
If not using a packet of seasoning add 1 1/2 T. chili powder,add 1 tsp. each garlic powder and onion powder, black pepper or cayenne pepper to taste plus a couple of pinches of cumin.

Condiments are very important in adding the final boost of flavor to chili here’s what I use most of the time:
cheese
chopped green onion
cilantro
sour cream (light)
I always serve cornbread with chili too.

In a large skillet cook first four ingredients until no longer pink and drain the fat. Then put turkey back into skillet and add the remainder of ingredients except corn, stir well. Cook on medium until bubbling then simmer for 1/2 hour. Add corn and simmer for 10 min. more and serve.

Tip: You can cook the first four ingredients then put into a crock-pot turn to low adding the remainder of ingredients except corn and cook on low all day. Add corn about a half hour before serving.


If you’re not familiar with a Food Blog Forum it’s an event for all of us food bloggers to gain knowledge on different topics to improve blogging content, photography, and networking with other food bloggers.   Jaden & Scott Hair of SteamyKitchen co-produced the event along with WhiteOnRiceCouple professional photographers and food bloggers and  Gwen of Bunkycooks was the hostess of the event in Atlanta and she did a fabulous job of pulling it all together.

Friday night opening party mixer at Viking was not disappointing! Chef Kevin Rathbun of Rathbun’s Atlanta was a character who entertained as well as he cooks.   He taught us about his great love for pork belly (commonly known as bacon).  He made pork tacos to die for with a hoisen sauce and cilantro and red onion salad inside.

Doesn’t this display look lovely.

Macerated peaches with shortcake and basil whip cream, yes you read it correctly.  I tried the basil whip cream thinking I wouldn’t like it but it was very good and not over powering like I had expected.

The lovely ladies for from Kitchen Scoop Alicia and Beverly.

Flavored Vinegars that looked and smelled so delish!

Strawberry shortcake yum!

New friends Amy from SheWearsManyHats and Gwen from Bunkycooks also Debra and Rob from smithbites enjoying the evening at The Spice Market an up-scale Indian cocktail bar with delicious appetizers.  I had a passion-fruit chili soda that was sweet with a slight kick to it.   Sure wish I could multi task better 😉  I also can’t forget to say a big thank you to Robyn of AddaPinch for saving me from getting lost again in Atlanta, she graciously took pity on me and gave me  a ride to the last event the cocktail party.

I’m a lover of fresh flowers of every kind, aren’t these beautiful?

I wish I would have taken pictures of Saturday’s session at The Shed but I was too busy socializing and trying to absorb all I could of the info. packed day.  The goodie bags we received were amazing, chalk full of all kinds of kitchen necessities thanks to all the sponsors.

We also had a one of the newest food blog success story celebrities in our mist, Miss Bakerella who is famous now for her cake-pops.  Her pops are on the cover of  Betty Crocker Fall Baking which is in stores now. When you go through the line at the grocery store pick one up.  She also has a cookbook coming out with the name “Cake-Pops” as well.  Also a big fat thank you to her for posting my picture on her site with a link back!

 

 

Bookmark and Share

From → Chili, Main dish

12 Comments
  1. Perfect dish for fall, one of my hubby fav’s and this is much healthier with turkey.

  2. It was so nice to meet you this past weekend! I am glad that you were able to make it to Atlanta and I hope to see you again sometime soon!

    Gwen

    • I was so glad to meet you too, wish we could have chatted a bit but you were so busy maybe another time.

  3. It was such a pleasure meeting you in Atlanta! I wish we could have spent more time together. Hoping to meet again soon in some other conference 🙂

  4. This looks like the perfect autumn dish, I’ll def try this soon! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. Kelli permalink

    Wow Suzanne what a cool opportunity for you! Thanks for all the ideas and blogs to visit.

  6. Looks like you had a great time Suzanne! I’d love to chat and hear more about it!

  7. Great Recap! How did I miss you there??

    • thanks Alison I’m not sure how we missed each other, saw you though and was thinking “wow she cooks she is so thin”!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 10 Tips From The Atlanta Food Blog Forum | Digital Aftershock

Leave a comment