Skip to content
Tags

,

Apple Pillows

September 19, 2010

Apples are one of my favorite Fall fruits to cook and bake with.  Apples are so versatile because they can be in sweet and savory dishes.

I have many favorite apple dishes but my friend Louise makes these fabulous apple pillows.  She shared the recipe with several of us ladies at church last Fall and now I’m sharing it with you.  I made these for my husbands birthday last year, he loved them and so did the rest of the family. They are so easy to make you’ll be in and out of the kitchen in no time.  The recipe I shared is a smaller recipe so if you want to feed more than 4 people then double the recipe and use a 9 X 13 pan.  I used a slightly smaller oval stoneware pan.

Apple Pillows
2 apples
1 package of Pillsbury extra big crescent rolls (6 rolls)
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup orange juice or apple juice
1/4 cup butter
cinnamon
chopped pecans

Directions:

  1. Peel and core apples then slice into quarters.
  2. Open package of crescent rolls and press seams together and roll our just a little bigger so you have a rectangle of dough.
  3. Divide into 8 equal portions and wrap each quarter of apple up.
  4. Spray baking pan with cooking spray and put apples in seam side down.
  5. In a small saucepan melt butter with orange juice and sugar bring to boil. Pour orange juice mixture over the pillows.
  6. Mix 2-3 T. of sugar with 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and sprinkle on top of apple pillows.
  7. Sprinkle nuts  over the apple pillows, and cover with foil.
  8. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 min., then remove foil and cook 10 min. longer.

Serve warm apple pillows with vanilla ice cream or whip cream.

Tips: If you use granny smith apples you may want to increase the cook time with the foil on by 5-7 min. so the apples will get soft enough to cut easily. Other softer apples should be fine at the regular cook time. I don’t recommend using red delicious apples because they break down to much in cooking.

This post is linked to skiptomylou Made by you Mondays


Bookmark and Share

From → Apple, Desserts

12 Comments
  1. Tami permalink

    These look really good. Love the pictures.

  2. Suzanne Butler permalink

    Wow, these look so yummy! (and easy!) Sounds like a perfect fall treat. I’m going to have to try these one of these days…

  3. Mmmmm, I have to try this one, I even have that pan! Oh wait, mine is the round one. It looks pretty simple too. OOooo I love fall food!

  4. These are really quite lovely. Hot from the pan they’d be the perfect fall treat. I love your blog and recipes like this keep me coming back. I hope you are having a great day.

  5. wow these look fabulous, I am always looking for great recipes like this to make after a long day at work, can do these in no time I love it! thanks for sharing ….cant wait to try these!

  6. These look scrumptious! Love them served with scoop of ice cream! Just lovely.

  7. Delish! Nothing better than hot apple treats and ice cream!

  8. This a pillow that I’d like to snuggle in with.

  9. Jileen permalink

    Did you know that Sunday is Johnny Appleseed’s Birthday? Perfect excuse to make these!

  10. oneordinaryday permalink

    What a great idea for someone like me who hates slicing up a million apples for a pie. This seems so much quicker and still totally delicious. I love how the “pillows” puff up and nestle against one another as they bake. Reminds me of cinnamon rolls.

Leave a Reply

