Skip to content

Marinated Grilled Tilapia

August 27, 2010

Before I give you this great recipe I must tell how my first experience went with Tilapia. First of all I have eaten Tilapia many times in restaurants and have always liked it’s mild non fishy taste. So, I decided to buy this huge bag of filets at the grocery store and make my own. One day I thawed some filets out and seasoned them with some lemon pepper and lemon juice then baked them. I was anticipating that same mild and delicious flavor… wrong, they tasted like dirt! They were so disgusting I didn’t even give them to my dog. Then I was mad because what was I going to do with that huge bag of filets, I don’t like wasting money or food. Well, I got brave again and this time decided I would marinate these filets all day so hopefully the dirt taste would be gone and we could eat them. It worked and so I want to share this recipe so those of you who have had the same experience as me can try again and have them taste great.

Marinade:
2 garlic cloves
1 T. grated lemon rind
1/ 4 fresh flat leaf parsley
1/8 cup canola oil
salt & pepper to taste

I used a mortar and pestal to mash all the above ingredients together, but you can use a food processor or just finely chop the ingredients. Get a large gallon size ziploc bag and put the fish in (I used 8 filets) and the marinade, seal and put into the refrigerator all day long. Grill on med-low until fish flakes or is no longer opaque. It helps to only turn the fish once so they don’t fall apart and it will be more tender also.

I also like to grill squash so in the picture you will see those too. I just salt an pepper them drizzle with oil and grill, sometimes I put them in a ziploc bag and marinate with dried basil, season salt and garlic. Either way the squash is so good grilled, try it you’ll love it.

Bookmark and Share

From → Fish, Grilling

8 Comments
  1. Sunshine permalink

    Oh my gosh! I had the same experience with Tilapia. It was so digusting! I did feed it to my dogs though. 🙂 The whole bag! I guess I should try again.

    • Glad I’m not the only one who had that experience. I promise you will like this recipe my kids loved it and that says it all.

  2. I agree, tilapia can be rather bland…like this idea.

  3. I’ve never cooked tilapia at home, although I have eaten it in restaurants many times. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

    • now you know at least what to expect if you just try to do the sprinkling of herbs and spices

  4. kelli permalink

    This recipe looks good Suzanne, I’ll have to try it. I use tilapia in a fish taco recipe, that I’ll email to you. It’s really yummy!

Leave a Reply

