Skip to content

Quick Fruit Salad

August 21, 2010

Need something quick but tasty to take to a BBQ or dinner party, who doesn’t like fruit salad? Most of you  probably know this simple little trick for the sauce but here it goes anyway… I use equal parts flavored yogurt and whip cream or cool-whip which ever you have.  For a small salad like the one in the  picture I used 4 oz. of each.  I use whatever fruit I have, sometimes the frozen variety and sometimes not.


Fruit Salad

1 large can of fruit cocktail drained or all fresh fruit if you have it

2 bananas chopped

bunch of strawberries washed and chopped

3 mandarin oranges or one regular

You could also use marshmallows, nuts or coconut but I was out of those.  For the yogurt I used a strawberry flavor for this one because I had the berries in the salad, but any flavor you like will do.  That’s all there is to this one, enjoy!

Bookmark and Share

From → Salad

8 Comments
  1. this is one of my favorite salads love the addition of banana’s never tried that before will diffinitely do this next time…looks delicious`

  2. yum….that looks so good right now! Must go eat some breakfast!

    • yes you must eat, not good to be looking at foodblogs before eating breakfast it’s like grocery shopping on an empty stomach!

  3. I had not heard of combining yogurt and whipped cream. That has to be absolutely fantastic. Do I really have to add fruit? 😉

  4. Heidi permalink

    Love fruit salad! When I make it for morning breakfasts I sometimes use an orange juice mixture… I can’t even think what it’s called… but the recipe calls it a fruit cup. We really like it here. I try to use all fresh fruit. I have a thing with store-bought frozen fruit. LOL!!! (But for your picture, I use cool whip. Never thought of yogurt- thanks for the idea!)

Leave a Reply

