Skip to content

Valencia Orange Jam

August 7, 2010

Visiting my family in California  is always great especially because of the fruit my Dad grows  in his back yard.  Yes, he has an orange tree, lemon, apple, peach, apricot, avocado and grapes, I think that about covers it.  The oranges were particularly juicy and sweet this time, I couldn’t resist this recipe I found for orange jam.  I followed the directions to the T and it didn’t set up 😦 .  The recipe I  followed  didn’t add pectin to it  so I thought “oh well, just go to the store and buy some pectin and re-heat the jam and no problem”.  I did that and it set up enough to be a soft jam.  But when I packed up some for me to take home in my suit case (no it didn’t break) it went back to a somewhat watery consistency.  I am not giving up on this jam though, I have thought of several ways I’m going to use it:

  1. waffle and pancake syrup
  2. homemade BBQ sauce with a citrus kick
  3. marinade for meats
  4. sweet and sour sauce
  5. dipping sauce for chicken tenders
  6. mixed with salad dressing
  7. ice cream topping

You get the idea, when all else fails make it into something else!  I love to can so I won’t be bothered by some dumb jam that didn’t set up.  I  won’t give you my recipe but I will give you Alton Brown’s recipe from the Food network for orange marmalade which his similar to what I made.  After watching his TV show “Good Eats” on oranges I can see what could have been the problem.  By the way the flavor of my orange jam was very good and not too sweet.  Give jam making a try it’s actually pretty fun.

From → Canning, Oranges, Tidbits

4 Comments
  1. Homemade jam is so good! I have been making it all Summer. Try the orange marmalade recipe for the Orange Tian. http://www.bunkycooks.com/2010/03/orange-tian-my-first-daring-bakers-challenge/ It was to die for!

  2. Kara permalink

    Joel, LOVED IT! I knew he would since he’s a maralade eater. I haven’t tasted it yet. However, Joel raved about how good it was. 🙂

    • Oh good, glad yours held up. When we flew to the hottest place on earth, mine went back to liquid form again.

Leave a Reply

