Skip to content

Blackberry Weekend – #1 Blackberry Almond Cake

June 4, 2010

Yeah! Blackeberry picking season  is here.  A good friend of mine has a blackberry farm and so I got some of the first blackberries.  I thought I might share this weekend some recipes on blackberries to tempt you to get cooking with them.  This little cake is just perfect for breakfast or snacking, the texture is like  a coffee cake.

Blackberry Almond Cake

1/2 cup of butter

1/2 cup of sugar

2 large eggs

1 cup of plain yogurt

1/2 tsp. almond extract

1 lemon rind grated

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup almond flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 cup of slice almonds

sugar

Beat butter at medium speed until creamy then gradually add sugar beating 2 to 3 min.  Add eggs and next 3 ingredients beat until smooth.  Combine flour, baking powder and salt.  Gradually add to butter mixture beating until well blended.  Stir in 1  1/2 cups of blackberries.  Pour batter into light greased 9 in spring-form pan.  Sprinkle almonds and some sugar on top.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 min.  Cool in pan for 15 min. then pop the sides and put on  serving platter to cool completely.

When cake is cook sprinkle powdered sugar on top or make a simple glaze of 1 cup powdered sugar and 4 tsp. milk mix together and pour over cake when cool.



Bookmark and Share

8 Comments
  1. Okay, I am going to try this! It looks soooo yummy! I love almonds and I love how the blackberries are cooked inside. How fortunate to have a friend with a blackberry farm! We used to have wild blackberries on our property when we lived in CA. Joni

  2. Wow! That looks yummy!

  3. I know I’m so glad to have friends with great fresh fruit. I hope you enjoy the recipe, thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  4. This sounds really good! I’m always looking for good blackberry recipes! 🙂

  5. I still have a couple of bags of frozen berries from last year – this would be such a special treat to use them up!

    • Melinda, if you do use frozen I would thaw then out fairly well since it would take much longer to cook the cake. I have used frozen in my berry oat bread but not this cake, let me know if it turns out well.

  6. That looks totally heavenly! Wish I could get fresh blackberries easier. I used to get all the time when I lived in WA State.

  7. This looks delicious! I love blackberries and the more recipes I find the more excuse I have to buy them alll the time! 🙂 Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

