Skip to content

Luncheon Rolls

April 14, 2010

A friend of mine gave me this recipe of her mother’s years ago before I ever learned how to make my own bread and rolls (not that I’m an expert by any means).  I watched her make these and thought I could probably do that too. These rolls are easy to make and if you’ve never tried to make your own rolls before this is a good starter recipe because it’s almost fool-proof.

This recipe is great for cinnamon rolls too or garlic rolls.

Luncheon Rolls

4 1/2 – 5 cups all-purpose flour

2 pkgs. dry yeast or 4 1/2 tsp.

3/4 c up of milk

1/2 cup of water

1/4 cup of vegetable oil

1/4 cup of sugar

2 tsp. salt

2 eggs room temperature

First combine the flour and yeast together in large mixing bowl.

Next  combine milk, water, oil, sugar, and salt together in microwavable bowl and heat until warm to the touch not super hot.

Add wet ingredients to flour mixture and beat until smooth, I use a Kitchen Aid Stand mixer and use my bread attachment and knead until well combined and not lumpy.  Now add 1/2 to 1 cup more of flour and knead.

Cover bowl with plastic wrap and let rise 20 min.

Spread some flour out on the counter and roll the dough out into a round circle about 11 in. and cut evenly like pizza with a pizza cutter or knife.  Now roll each piece up from the large end to the small end for the crescent roll shape.  Let rolls rise for 30 min.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 min.

From → Breads, Recipes

2 Comments
  1. oneordinaryday permalink

    I’ve only been baking my own yeast breads for a short while, but I’m going to have to try these rolls. They look beautiful and I like that they’re versatile enough to become sweet or savory too.

    Thank you for the kind comment on my blog. I subscribe to The Mother Huddle, but I’ll have to keep track of this blog too. 🙂

    ~Michelle

    • Thanks Michelle, I can hardly believe you just started baking your own breads since you have lots of great recipes over on your blog, hope this one becomes a favorite.
      -Suzanne 🙂

Leave a Reply

