Skip to content

Baked Sweet Potato Fries

November 4, 2010

 

If you are here for the first time and want to subscribe to my feed please do at my new site www.you-made-that.com

Are you like me when it comes to sweet potatoes?…I only think of them once a year during the holidays.  My thoughts drift to the yummy sweet mashed, butter laden, cinnamon spiked, marshmallow crusted sweet potato dish my cousin makes at Thanksgiving.  If your answer was yes then let me introduce you to the lovely sweet potato whom should be thought of more than once a year and never in a can when fresh is so available and tasty.

I live in the South, but am originally from the West coast, and in the South everything is fried even the sweet potato just like french fries.  I like fried foods but I usually don’t fry at home very much because I grew up grilling not frying.  I was introduced last year to the french fried sweet potato and I loved it.  I thought I need to make these at home but lighten them up by baking them instead of frying.  They turned out delicious, I think I like them better than the fried version.  Baking the sweet potatoes brings out all of its natural sugars and then add a sprinkling of powdered sugar when serving and you have a wonderful side dish.  I could think of a ton of ways to make those healthy baked fries as unhealthy as their french fried sister, like pouring melted butter over them with cinnamon and sugar on top, but I think I will stick to the healthier way.  I know your really going to like how simple these baked fries are to make, so put 1 or 2 sweet potatoes on your grocery list and give these a try.

Recipe:

1-2 sweet potatoes peeled

2 T. vegetable oil

2 tsp. kosher sea salt

1-2 T. powdered sugar

Directions:

Cut peeled sweet potato in half then into wedges as evenly as possible, then cut wedges in half.  Put potatoes in gallon size zip lock bag add oil and salt, close and shake well.  Spread oiled potatoes out evenly on baking sheet.  If the potatoes do not touch each other they are less likely to steam and more likely to get a tougher browned crust like french fries.  Bake for 30 min. at 400 degrees until tender turning half way through the cook time.  Serve with a sprinkling of powdered sugar or eat plain.

Serves 4 – 6

If you have kids you might find out that they really like these fries because of their naturally sweet flavor and you can feel good about it knowing they are getting some real vegetables in.

Enjoy :)

23 Comments
  1. Oh, I never thought to add powdered sugar, that would help the kids eat them. Beautiful photos!

  2. Love sweet potato fries!!! I also never added powered sugar on top. Sounds yummy…

  3. Alicia permalink

    Mmm sweet potatoes. Huh, never associated powdered sugar with sweet potatoes… maybe I should give that a try! Thanks for the tip.

  4. I love sweet potato anything, but fries are a great chance of pace. I always know I’m going to find something good when I came to your blog. :)

  5. I had tried a frozen brand kind, and everyone disliked them except me…I got to try fresh and am kicking myself trying the frozen first, your picture just convinced me to do these and the right way this time they are scrumptious looking! no doubt I will love these!

    • I didn’t even know that there was a frozen version of sweet potato fries. You will like these so much better, thanks for the compliments too. xoxox

  6. I truly have never considered making sweet potatoes even sweeter…and why not? What I’m thrilled about is that you got them baked instead of fried…thanks for that healthier version ;o)

    Flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

    • sweet potatoes almost become a dessert at our house at Thanksgiving so for me having them straight up is new ;) thanks for the nice compliment1

  7. I love sweet potato fries, thanks for the recipe!

  8. These look amazing!

  9. Looks great. I always fry them when I make fries. I think I should try this way to be healthier. I’m really liking FoodPress.

  10. herballovely permalink

    This is the best recipe I’ve seen so far, aside from a plain baked sweet potato! Looks gorgeous and I will definitely try this. Thank You!

  11. offwhiteliving permalink

    Never tried with powdered sugar – sounds like a fun way to have them, almost a dessert!
    I like to toss mine with nutritional yeast – very ‘tangy’; almost like they have a cheesy flavor without the cheese.

  12. Who doesn’t love sweet potatoes… these look so good.. now im hungry

  13. This is the best recipe I’ve seen so far, aside from a plain baked sweet potato! Looks gorgeous and I will definitely try this. Thank You!

  14. I love sweet potato fries, thanks for the recipe!

  15. Tried the fried sweet potatoes and they were delicious! I didn’t need powdered sugar but if I served it to guests, I would have it available. Great recipe.

  16. Mmm, I love sweet potatoes and usually cube them, toss them with miso and roast them at high heat — similar idea but not in french fry shape. I love your idea of dusting with powdered sugar. Definitely have to try this!

  17. Sunflowerdiva permalink

    With sugar on top? That’s actually not a bad idea…. :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

