Skip to content

Rustic Chicken Pot Pie

October 29, 2010


For those people who follow my little blog on a regular basis you know I have to throw in a  main dish every once in a while because the family can’t always eat dessert :) so hope you like this one.

Comfort food is simple food, something that makes us feel at home and comfortable, you know like sitting in a recliner bundled up with your favorite blanket and movie. This recipe fits that feeling for me and it’s especially good on a chilly evening.  Another reason to love this recipe is if your chicken is cooked ahead of time it’s a one pot meal.  I really hate doing a bunch of dishes so one pot meals are my kind of meal.  Kids will like this recipe too because my 9-year-old actually did which says a lot!  Kids really like the  mild flavor and biscuits on top.  The next time you’re in one of those cozy kind of moods make this simple dinner, then bundle up with your favorite blanket and watch a chic flick.

Recipe
2 large chicken breast cooked and cubed bite size
1 small yellow onion chopped fine
2 celery stalks chopped small
1 cup chopped carrots chopped small
1 large potato peeled and chopped bite size
3/4 stick of butter
1/4 cup of flour
1 1/2 cup half and half or milk
3 cups chicken broth
1 tsp. chicken bullion granules
1 tsp. garlic power
1 tsp. onion powder
salt and pepper to taste
1 can of Pillsbury Grand flaky layered biscuits

Cook chicken in about 4 cups of water in medium size pot, make sure the chicken is covered. Bring chicken to a boil then simmer until chicken is no longer pink on the inside.

While chicken is cooking get a 10 inch skillet and cook the onions, carrots, and celery in the butter on medium until veggies are translucent. When veggies are translucent sprinkle flour a little at a time through a sieve over the veggies stirring to incorporate after each sprinkling to make a roux. Now slowly add the 1/2 and 1/2 stirring to incorporate. Turn veggies to low and add the potatoes and slowly while stirring add 3 cups of broth. Add garlic and onion powder along with chicken bullion granules and stir. Cook on low stirring occasionally until potatoes are tender.

When chicken is done, cube the chicken and add to the skillet. If the chicken mixture looks like it needs more liquid add some broth thinning it out a bit.

Open biscuits and begin peel each biscuit in half so one biscuit turns into two. Put biscuits around the skillet until all the surface is covered. Biscuits should be touching each other, if you have extra biscuits fill in the empty places with bits of biscuit.

Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes or until biscuits are browned on top.

Serves 8

Enjoy this tasty recipe and don’t worry about the butter and half and half it’s not like you’re going to eat it everyday!

//

From → Chicken, Main dish

12 Comments
  1. Heidi permalink

    Hmmmmmmm- I love chicken pot pie! My kids are always asking for it. We like peas in ours- since I would use frozen, I can probably add them to the mixture just before adding biscuits??

    I am always enjoying your ideas! Still doing donuts tomorrow! Thanks for the recipes!

    • wow, it’s the opposite here! I finally found one they all like so it’s a keeper.

  2. got to try this love pot pie, perfect for this weekend! looks wonderful!

    • my family really liked this version as opposed to the pie crust type, I like either. Hope you have a great weekend;)

  3. Chicken pot pie is one of my favorite comfort foods. I’ve never used biscuits for it, but do for a recipe that is chicken in brown gravy with biscuits on the top, very similar, but it doesn’t include the veggies, except onions and garlic, and the gravy is made by browning flour, adding butter for the roux and then chicken stock to make the sauce. The cubed chicken goes back in and then I top with my biscuits. (2 3/4 cups Southern (Adluh or Martha White) Self-rising flour, 4 heaping Tbsp vegetable shortening, 3/4 cup +/- whole Buttermilk; cut shortening into flour, mix in buttermilk adjusting with either more flour or more Buttermilk to get good dough, but not handling too much; turn out onto floured counter, pat out gently until 1/2 inch thick). I learned it from a venerable lady at my church when my sons were just little guys. They loved this one.

    • Wow, thanks for the recipe here, need to try it out. You just rattled that recipe out from memory didn’t you? My own biscuit making is somewhat to be desired hence the canned ones.

      • My husband says I can make biscuits in my sleep and that’s just about true. I don’t even measure anymore. I have my favorite bowl that I use and I do it all by eye and feel. As with you, I love to cook.

  4. I really love dishes like this too! Warm and hearty and super comforting!

  5. That looks outstanding, and is another reminder that there are indeed some good things about the onset of fall and winter weather. I mean, that just looks like warm hearty goodness …

  6. Wow, that chicken pot pie looks so inviting!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Rustic Chicken Pot Pie « You Made That? -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

