Skip to content

Chocolate Glazed Doughnuts a Daring Bakers Challenge

October 27, 2010

My first Daring Bakers Challenge for this month was to make donuts. You might be wondering what a Daring Bakers challenge is, well it is a group of mostly food bloggers who take on a food baking challenge chosen by other foodies once a month.  This month Lori from Butter Me Up choose the challenge and gave several recipes options to choose from.  I was excited to try donuts out, I had only made them twice before and not sure if you can count the first  time since I used canned biscuits and was about 10 years old. (hey, they were good though)

I choose Alton Brown’s recipe for yeast donuts.  Let’s just say I have a new-found respect for donut chefs/makers. They look rather simple but there is a learning curve (suppose that’s why it’s called a baker’s challenge).  The recipe was easy to follow but I found out later that my dough was a little too sticky which made it hard to get the nicely rounded shape off the cookie sheet and into the frying pan, in the same shape.  I then decided that donut holes were good, then just cut pieces of dough thrown in worked too!

Okay so let’s get started on the recipe so you can make your own donuts and learn from my mistakes.

Recipe:

  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 1/2 ounces vegetable shortening, approximately 1/3 cup
  • 2 packages instant yeast
  • 1/3 cup warm water (95 to 105 degrees F)
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
  • 4  2/3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting surface
  • Peanut or vegetable oil, for frying (1 to 1/2 gallons, depending on fryer)

Directions:

Place the milk in a medium saucepan and heat over medium heat just until warm enough to melt the shortening. Place the shortening in a bowl and pour warmed milk over. Set aside.

In a small bowl, sprinkle the yeast over the warm water and let dissolve for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes, pour the yeast mixture into the large bowl of a stand mixer and add the milk and shortening mixture, first making sure the milk and shortening mixture has cooled to lukewarm. Add the eggs, sugar, salt, nutmeg, and half of the flour. Using the paddle attachment, combine the ingredients on low-speed until flour is incorporated and then turn the speed up to medium and beat until well combined. Add the remaining flour, combining on low-speed at first, and then increase the speed to medium and beat well. Change to the dough hook attachment of the mixer and beat on medium speed until the dough pulls away from the bowl and becomes smooth, approximately 3 to 4 minutes. Transfer to a well-oiled bowl, cover, and let rise for 1 hour or until doubled in size.

On a well-floured surface, roll out dough to 3/8-inch thick.

Cut out dough using a 2 1/2-inch doughnut cutter or pastry ring and using a 7/8-inch ring for the center hole. Set on floured baking sheet, cover lightly with a tea towel, and let rise for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oil in a deep fryer or Dutch oven to 365 degrees F. Gently place the doughnuts into the oil, 3 to 4 at a time. Cook for 1 minute per side.

Transfer to a cooling rack placed in baking pan. Allow to cool for 15 to 20 minutes prior to glazing, if desired.

Time for the fun part glazing and decorating!

Chocolate Glaze Recipe:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup whole milk, warmed
  • 1 tablespoon light corn syrup
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted

Directions:

Combine butter, milk, corn syrup, and vanilla in medium saucepan and heat over medium heat until butter is melted. Decrease the heat to low, add the chocolate, and whisk until melted. Turn off heat, add the powdered sugar, and whisk until smooth. Place the mixture over a bowl of warm water and dip the doughnuts immediately.  Allow glaze to set for 30 minutes before serving.

I also decided to roll  some of my donut holes in powdered sugar and others in cinnamon sugar, and both were tasty alternatives if you didn’t want to mess with making the glaze.  Making the glaze was very easy though so don’t be shy about trying it out.

More fun than glazing was eating the donuts…mmmmmm!

Tips:

  1. If you don’t have a thermometer then you really need one.  I used an electric frying pan with a temp dial on the side but I still don’t think it was accurate enough.  In my case not hot enough.
  2. When the directions say cook 3-4 donuts do it, if you put more in the temp. of the oil will go down and cause your donuts to soak up more of the oil.
  3. I didn’t have a donut cutter so I used a drinking glass and a small round biscuit cutter for the center.  If I try again I think I would like a donut cutter.
  4. When using glaze and sprinkles make sure you use the sprinkles immediately or they won’t stick to the glaze.

I believe if you follow the directions exactly and follow my tips you will have wonderful donuts.  My donuts were good but a bit too greasy because of the temperature not staying high enough.  Hope you try your hand at donuts sometime.

From → Breakfast, Cakes, Desserts

28 Comments
  1. You assassinated me with your donut this early morning.:)It would have been perfect beside my coffe. They’re all wonderful!
    Have a nice day Suzanne.

  2. wow by the looks of these babies you sure aced it mouth watery fried heaven! Congrats!

  3. Those look great! Donuts have always intrigued me, but I always get the feeling I’ll just be turning my kitchen into a disaster area for a failed project (as you can tell, my confidence in my baking ability could use some work …)

  4. Heidi permalink

    Looks easy enough… maybe I will try this Saturday morning! I’ll let you know how they turned out! =)

  5. pragmaticattic permalink

    These look great. I also improvised with the cutters, using a shot glass and a cup.

  6. Welcome to Daring Bakers! I think your doughnuts look great, especially the fall colored sprinkles. Nice job on the challenge!

  7. I have tried homemade donuts many times and haven’t been thrilled yet. I don’t know if my temp. isn’t high enough too. They always seem heavy and grease laden. I did post about French Quarter Beignets that were light and wonderful, but alas, they came from a mix. Maybe I am just not a donut maker.

  8. I think your donuts look great! I’d never even attempt yeast donuts. Nice job.

  9. I’m sure there are no calories in them since they are – theoretically speaking – an experiment – right?! Looks yummy!

  10. I don’t care what shape your doughnuts were, they look mighty yummy! And of course, everything is better with frosting on top.

  11. Oh dear – if I made these, I’d want to eat them all. donuts covered in chocolate and sprinkles are my favorite. Happy FF.
    :)
    ButterYum

  12. Jileen permalink

    I have tried doughnuts several times and have always messed them up. If mine were graded they would be a big fat F! Suzanne, yours are an A+. They look so good. Just wondering when you were going to share….. :)

    • Thanks Jileen it was a challenge but I feel more confident having had some turn out.

  13. You did a wonderful job on this challenge.
    What a joyful looking post and the photos were so enthusiastic ;o)

    I’m not big on frying…hence I can understand how this perfection is somewhat difficult to achieve. No matter…they look great ;o)

    Flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

  14. janemaynard permalink

    hi there! just wanted to let you know that we featured this post on the FoodPress.com homepage today. your doughnuts looks scrumptious. keep up the good work! jane

  15. Beautiful!!! I want one! :)

  16. YUMMMM! They look fantastic

  17. That looks heavenly, looks like Krispy Kreme but better :)

    Raymund

    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  18. Yum! These look amazing. Great blog post, Suzanne. :)

  19. I’ve never seen a doughnut that good lookin’ before… ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

