Skip to content

Indian Nan meets Greek Flavors

September 18, 2010

I took a shopping trip to TJmaxx and got all kinds of goodies for the kitchen. One of the goodies I came home with was artichoke lemon pesto, mmmmm I could already taste it but wasn’t sure what to make yet until I found some garlic nan at the grocery store. Nan is an Indian flat bread that reminds me of pizza dough, if you haven’t tried it now you have an excuse. This recipe is full of flavor and fresh ingredients hope you love the taste as much as I do. If your wondering “when do I eat this?” I made it for lunch but it could also go for an appetizer or snack.

Indian Flat-bread Cold Pizza (crazy name)
2 flat-breads
4 oz. cream cheese
artichoke lemon pesto
feta cheese
1 garlic clove pressed
olives (I used black but kalamata are more Greek)
grape tomatoes
red onion
cucumber
sliced basil leaves

Directions:
Prepare veggies by washing, slice red onion thinly, slice tomatoes in half, peel cucumber and slice in half and again. Slice whole olives or buy already sliced. If using kalamata olives
then make sure the seed is removed. Stack basil leaves on top of each other and roll up then slice very thin.

Soften cream cheese in small bowl, add 1 heaping tablespoon of the artichoke pesto, and the pressed garlic clove. Stir cream cheese mixture together until combined well. Spread onto the nan flat-bread .
Sprinkle veggies in any order you like adding feta cheese last. Cut pizzas in half and in half again. If serving a crowd you could cut into small triangles or square. Serves 4.

Kati Roll

Spinach orzo

Bookmark and Share

7 Comments
  1. That looks fantastic!

    • Thanks so much, I just went to your blog and it looks great but I was un-able to make a comment and the translation was half and half. I was surprised that someone out of the US was visiting my blog that’s so neat.

      • Thank you and it’s okay, the translater is wrong. The world is not so big through the internet and I have a good eye to find the good blogs:) And yours is! I’m sure I’ll often visit you.

        Have a good time!

        Ildy from Hungary

  2. Beautiful food styling! Did you pick that up at FBF? :) Seriously, that is a great picture…and sounds like a delicious recipe!

  3. That’s a great idea – a perfect mingling of culinary cultures!

  4. I love using naan whenever I can in the kitchen – for sandwiches, pizzas, dipping, etc. This sounds like such a fresh and delicious meal and I love the fusion of Greek flavors with a touch of Indian flair. Now I just need to find some lemon artichoke pesto for myself!

    • The artichoke pesto I found was so delish! I gave the link to the company on my post if you want to order it through them, thanks for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

