Skip to content

“Mexican Chocolate”- Cake

July 25, 2010

I just recently traveled to Cancun, Mexico and while I was there I bought some Mexican powered cocoa.  When I opened the bag the scent of chocolate smelled strong not like the typical Hershey’s brand, I couldn’t wait to try it. The cocoa was begging to be in this yummy chocolate cake so I had to comply. The chocolate cake is so delicious with a deep chocolate flavor your going to love it   I also put a little fresh squeezed orange juice in the recipe to enhance the chocolate flavor even more.

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup mexican cocoa
1 1/2 cup of granulated sugar
1/2 cup of dark brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

Combine all the dry ingredients in large mixing bowl. Add wet ingredients except boiling hot water and mix for 2 min.

2 eggs
1/2 cup oil
1 cup 1/2 and 1/2
2 tsp. vanilla
1/4 cup fresh orange juice
3/4 cup of hot water

After 2 min. of mixing then add the hot water and mix until well blended. The batter will be runny. Bake in a 9 X 13 in cake pan or 2 9 in. cake pans at 350 degrees for 30-35 min.

Frosting:
1/3 cup of cocoa powder
1 box of powdered sugar 16 oz.
1/3 cup of half and half
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup of butter

Melt butter then add the cocoa and vanilla mix well. Alternately add cream and powdered sugar until mixed well until creamy. Spread on cooled cake. Add toasted nuts or sprinkles whatever you like. Eat with big glass of milk and a scoop if vanilla ice cream!

From → Cakes, Mexican

4 Comments
  1. Heidi Miller permalink

    I like using the Mexican Vanilla in things, and I like to make sure mine is made in Mexico, and not the US (LOL!). And certain vanillas have better tastes. But I don’t like using Mexican Vanilla in my chocolate things. I just don’t like the combo even though my parents & siblings too! I feel it has a cinnamon flavor, which I don’t like with chocolate (ruins my chocolate craving, even though I love cinnamon, just not with chocolate!). #1 reason I don’t like Barbara’s chocolate cake because she does put cinnamon in hers. Do you think this cocoa has a cinnamon flavor? I would like a sample soon! =)

  2. Girl you are funny. I like cinnamon in chcolate but not all the time. No this chocolate is pure with no cinnamon in it. I might be able to order some on the the web since it has a site on the package. Oh and in case you are wondering about the citrus in the recipe you can’t taste it.

  3. Kara permalink

    LOVED THIS CAKE!!!!!!!!!!! So, dang tasty…Suz, will have to make it again before she leaves for home..hehe

  4. .Krista permalink

    YUMMY!!! Hope you picked up some Mexican vanilla too! It’s fantastic! My friend brought me some back when she went to Mexico and the aroma alone is out of this world!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

