Skip to content

Quick Smoked Turkey Pesto Panini

June 11, 2010

Love pesto, so I had to share a super easy way to enjoy a quick panini without the hassle of making the pesto from scratch.  What you don’t have a panini press not to worry you can still make this recipe without one. This recipe is for two people but make as many as you want just increase your ingredients.

Quick Smoked Turkey Pesto Panini

hearty bread – I used “Soy Crunch”

favorite smoked turkey

provolone cheese

spinach leaves

sliced tomato

sliced red onion

Mayonnaise or (I hate to say it but the impostor Miracle Whip)

store bought pesto  (or fresh if your up for it)

butter

Gather all your ingredients like this, take equal parts mayonnaise and pesto and mix together.  I used 1 heaping T. of each.  Spread on the bread to your liking.  My husband likes lots of spread, me not so much.

  • Stack the turkey, then tomato and cheese on one half.
  • On the other slice of bread layer spinach and onions.
  • Put together and spread butter on the side that is facing up.  Get your skillet ready and put sandwich in the pan.  My pan is teflon so I didn’t grease it first.
  • Now get a plate and put on top of the sandwich, add a heavy can of some sort and put on top to flatten the sandwich and cook for about 2 min. on medium high or until the underside is nicely browned.

  • When the sandwich is done on one side take off the plate with a hot pad and butter the sandwich then flip over to cook the other side.  Return the plate with the can on top until it is cooked (approx. 2 min.)

Now wasn’t that easy, you can have a fancy grilled panini right in your own kitchen without the fancy grill pan.  Enjoy!

Bookmark and Share

From → Panini, Sandwich

6 Comments
  1. Yummo looking panini! I never use a *press* either :)

    Blessings!
    Gail

  2. Can you hear my tummy grumbling for a bit of this panini?
    :)
    ButterYum

  3. Tami permalink

    going to the store to get the stuff to make these tonight. Ali and I don’t care for tomatoes so I think I’ll swap out with roasted red peppers.

  4. This looks awesome—paninis always take sandwiches to the next level! And I actually just bought a panini press off of someone so I’ll have to try this (although I love your method too ;))

    • Have fun using your panini press if I got one my family would probably hate panini’s before too long. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

